7 Best Fire Emblem Games For Strategy Fans

Fire Emblem is a series of fantasy tactical role-playing games developed by Intelligent Systems and published by Nintendo. The first game of this series was first published in 1990. Initially, the game was published for the Family Computer, but over the years, this game is available on popular platforms like Nintendo DS, Nintendo 3DS, Android, iOS, Nintendo Switch, etc. Since the first release, Fire Emblem games have gained popularity all around the world. In this article, we have reviewed7 the best Fire Emblem games in the series. If you are a strategy game fan, then you will definitely love these games.

List Of 7 Best Fire Emblem Games For Strategy Fans

1. Radiant Dawn

2. Blazing Blade

3. Shadows of Valentia

4. Fire Emblem Fates: Conquest

5. Fire Emblem Fates: Birthright

6. Sacred Stones

7. Path of Radiance

Radiant Dawn

The first Fire Emblem game on our list is Radiant Dawn. It is the 10thentry in the Fire Emblem series, and it was first released on February 22, 2007. This game acts as a direct sequel to the 2005 GameCube title Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance. This game is considered the most difficult Fire Emblem game released to date; therefore, it sits at the top of the list. If you are a fan of hardcore strategy games, then you will definitely love this game. The story of this game is divided into four different parts that give a diverse viewpoint on each side of the continuing battle. As a player, you have to take control of Micaiah and her rebellion against the Begnion Occupational Army.

Blazing Blade

For gamers outside of Japan, Blazing Blade was their first introduction to the Fire Emblem series. This game was released on the Game Boy Advance in the United States, and it includes three main characters Elwood, Hector, and Lyn. Among these three characters, Eliwood and Hector, have a familial connection to previous Fire Emblem characters. This game has two-story segments. The first segment follows Lyn and revolves around her quest to help her grandfather. The second segment follows Eliwood, Hector, and Lyn as they fight against the sorcerer Nergal. In this game, you have to play the role of a tactician who helps the three main characters on their journey.

Shadows Of Valentia

This is the 15th game of the Fire Emblem series, and it was first released in 2017. Shadows of Valentia are a remake of a previous 1992 Fire Emblem title. This game combines the traditional tactical turn-based gameplay of Fire Emblem with the dungeon crawling aspect found in the original game. This game has two difficulty settings as well as a Classic and Casual mode that was first introduced in Fire Emblem: Awakening. The classic model features the permanent death of the character that falls in battle. Casual mode, on the other hand, only knocks the character out for that battle. If you are a strategy game lover, then you will enjoy the game most.

Fire Emblem Fates: Conquest

Fire Emblem Fates features two games with different stories: Conquest and Birthright. Conquest is more challenging compare to Birthright, and this game is for hardcore Fire Emblem fans. The enemies of the Conquest game are tougher by design, and the individual levels have different conditions for winning.­­­If you love a challenge then you should start playing the Conquest game. In this game, you will send on missions that are designed to be nearly impossible to complete. Moreover, the characters in the game hate each other from the beginning, so it becomes more difficult for the players to complete the missions.

Fire Emblem Fates: Birthright

This game is part of the Fire Emblem Fates series. Both games of this series are set on the same continent, but Birthright is aimed at more casual fans of the series. The enemies of this game are less tough compared to the Conquest. If you want to experience the true taste of the Fire Emblem Fates series, then you have to play both of the games. If you are a casual strategy fan, then you will love playing Birthright.

Sacred Stones

This is the 8th game of the series, and it was first released on October 7, 2004. This game takes place on an entirely different continent separate from earlier Fire Emblem titles. This game takes place on the fictional continent of Magvel, and this continent is consisting of five nations. Each nation is built around a magical stone that is linked to the imprisonment of an ancient demon. In this game, you will have to explore Magvelaccording a plot that focuses on twins Eirika and Ephraim as they inspect a plot against their nation.

Path of Radiance

This is the first game of the Fire Emblem series that was released for a home console. This game takes place on the continent of Tellius and features an all-new storyline distinct from any previous games of the series. In this game, you have to follow Ike and his role in his father’s mercenary company that runs within the borders of the nation of Crimea. The conflict between the human beorc race and the beast laguz is the primary story of the game. In this game, Ike was introduced, who is one of the series’ staples that appear in other games like Super Smash Bros.

Final Thoughts

Have you ever played any of the above Fire Emblem games? If you have, then what is the name of the game? Share your gaming experience with fellow gamers. So, they can pick a game and play!


1. Which Fire Emblem Game Is The Most Popular?

Answer- Fire Emblem Shadow Dragon and the Blade of Light made their debut in 1990. This was the very first Fire Emblem game. 21 years later and Fire Emblem remains the most popular tactical role-playing game around.

2. Which Fire Emblem Games Are Worth Playing?

1 Path Of Radiance.
2 Fates.
3 The Sacred Stones.
4 The Blazing Blade.
5 Shadow Dragon.
6 Awakening.

3. Should I Play All Fire Emblem Games?

Answer- No need to play any previous entries for the sake of the story. If you’ve never played a fire emblem game before you might want to try a game like sacred stones ( FE 8 ) to familiarize yourself with the basic mechanics of fire emblem so it won’t all be new to you.

4. Which Order Should I Play Fire Emblem?

Answer- So recap: Fire Emblem 1, 2, 3, 11, 12, 13 -> Archanea/Ylisse and Valentia/Valm continent. 11 and 12 are remakes of 1 and 3, so the play order would be 11, 2, 12, 13 (Shadow Dragon, Gaiden, New Mystery of the Emblem, Awakening).